[Translation] 紅月ノ謡

Flandre.Scarlet.full.1714641
Attention, this foreword will be the longest I’ve ever written yet…read it at your own risk!

Oh, I can recognize her voice immediately, even if it says “KABURA” :3 (I’m referring to this entry)
I was really happy when the vocalist wrote a whole entry just about how happy she is that her music is also listened by people overseas and even thanked me for my translation (still not confident about my translating skills, though)!
Well, the little conversation on twitter has also encouraged me to improve my skills, and that’s where the motivation for this translation came :]

Now…back to the actual song, first I didn’t expect this song having a heavy mood at the beginning! But I think I can only feel the mood by translating…every single line, one after another. Yeah, that’s how it works for me, I’m only able feel the lyricist/vocalist’s messages/emotions/intentions after having translated the whole song! lol, I’m repeating myself and even went off-topic, so I’ll stop here… (No, I won’t.)

Ah, I’m not sure how to romanize 紅月 in the title, Kunyomi would be ‘Akatsuki’ (but that has a different meaning, lol), or ‘Akazuki’? Nah, sounds weird… Onyomi would be ‘Kougetsu’ or ‘Kougatsu’, so… I don’t have clue!!! And 紅月 doesn’t exist in the regular vocabulary as a single word… D:
Another for me first unknown kanji was the 謡, but there are dictionaries in this case.
I think you pronounce 謡 like “Utai” and it can mean “Noh chanting”… or “recitation”. Now I’m totally clueless, both words have a different meaning, and the title would mean sth different by using either “Noh Chanting” or “Recitation”, so I just leave it to your imagination. But since it’s about Divas and such…I’d tend to “Noh Chant”, although it’s just my interpretation…

title: 紅月ノ謡
(Kougetsu no Utai) [so I decided for “Kougetsu” in the end…]
[Noh Chant of the Crimson Moon]
album: 憐華 -Renka-
circle: C-CLAYS
event: Reitaisai 11 (例大祭11)
arrangement: KABURA [たこ呆]
lyrics: KABURA
vocals: KABURA [actually it’s 長谷川澪奈 (Reina Hasegawa)]
original title: U.N.オーエンは彼女なのか?
(U.N.Owen wa Kanojo Nanoka?; U.N.Owen was Her?)
source: 東方紅魔郷 ~ the Embodiment of Scarlet Devil

まだ見ぬ夜に 放たれた鳥よ
全てを毀す 意味等無い儘

mada minu yoru ni hanatareta tori yo
subete wo kowasu imi nado nai mama

I can’t see in this night yet; Even if the bird was released,
Everything will break as without a meaning

初めて見る 世界 – Element –
全て私をのよ Q.E.D.

hajimete miru Element
subete watashi wo no yo Q.E.D.

After I could see the world (element),
Everything became a proof for me

狂い躍りなさい
愚劣な虚言 – 嘘 – ならヤメにして
虹色の羽根を纏い 紅い服で笑う
魔法 掛けましょう

kurui odorinasai
guretsu na uso nara yame ni shite
niji-iro no hane wo matoi akai fuki de warau
mahou kakemashou

If confusion becomes foolish lies
Everything will be over
Wearing rainbow-colored wings and red clothes make me smile
Please let it be magic

暗黒の雨 薔薇色の焔
全てを毀す 紅き月の謡

ankoku no ame bara-iro no honoo
subete wo kowasu akaki tsuki no utai

Rain of darkness, rose-colored flames,
Everything will break; It’s the Noh chant of the crimson moon

目にしたモノを 摑んで
「タノシイコトヲ サァ ハジメマショ?」

me ni shita mono wo tsukande
“tanoshii koto wo saa hajimemasho?”

Although I could see, I realized
“Come on, should the funny things start?”

命を乞いなさい
私の前に跪いて
月虹の月明かり
私だけを照らす
孤独な 歌姫 – DIVA –

inochi wo koinasai
watashi no mae ni hizamazuite
gekkou no tsukiakari
watashi dake wo terasu
kodoku na DIVA

If I’d beg for my life,
My former self would kneel down
Just as the moonlight of the moonbow
Would shine on me,
A lonely diva

狂い躍りなさい
愚劣な虚言 – 嘘 – ならヤメにして
虹色の羽根を纏い 紅い服で笑う

kurui odorinasai
guretsu na uso nara yame ni shite
niji-iro no hane wo matoi akai fuki de warau

If confusion becomes foolish lies
Everything will be over
Wearing rainbow-colored wings and red clothes make me smile

命を乞いなさい
私の前に跪いて
月虹の月明かり
私だけを照らす

inochi wo koinasai
watashi no mae ni hizamazuite
gekkou no tsukiakari
watashi dake wo terasu

If I’d beg for my life,
My former self would kneel down
Just as the moonlight of the moonbow
Would shine on me,

孤独な 歌姫 – DIVA –

kodoku na DIVA

A lonely diva

Leave a Reply

